Welcome to OMG boards community!
Community of friends where we talk about daily life, offtopic stuff, and what keeps us busy.

You are currently viewing our community forums as a guest user. Sign up or
Having an account grants you additional privileges, such as creating and participating in discussions.

Black Holes

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Crystal, Jun 2, 2008.

1. Crystal

Crystal OMG Member

Threads:
    Black Holes

Thought this might be an intriguing subject too.

If I understand correctly, black holes are the result of stars that have collasped in on themselves, and they suck in literally everything that comes near them, including light. And nothing can escape from them. (Feel free to correct me though if I'm wrong on this--I'm far from an expert on anything in space.)

So, how many black holes do you think are out there? And have any ever been found?

2. Ki Adi Mundi

Ki Adi Mundi I decimate ninjas.

Threads:
    Re: Black Holes

Well, it's theorized that there is a massive black hole at the center of our galaxy. Also, it is proposed that there are traveling black holes, moving through the universe.

In January 07, researchers at the University of Southampton in the UK they found a black hole, of about 400 solar masses, in a globular cluster associated in galaxy named NGC 4472, roughly 55 million light-years away.

3. DarthParrot

DarthParrot OMG Member

Threads:

You know, I've always wondered if there might be a really really strong black hole at the center of our galaxy. It could explain why our galaxy is circular shaped; a black hole is simply pulling masses (planets, stars, nebula's) from all directions.

Think of it like water draining in a sink, a bunch of stars are slowly orbiting the black hole and are also slowly sinking into it.

However, if that were true, that means that Earth will eventually fall into a black hole in the next bajillion years or so.

EDIT: