Are you a smoker?

Phillip

OMG Member
Alright, so I know I had a hard life and such... But face it, everyone does it now and again. I became a smoker (cigarettes) when I just turned 20...I've been smoking on and off for about 8 years now I have already had cancer within my lymph nodes but it was the serious kind of cancer...

I'm working on quitting again this week and I want some more tips on quitting...I have one pack left, there is twenty individual cigarettes inside the pack...I'm thinking maybe every three to four hours.

But I'm not too sure on how to keep myself from buying another pack, cause it's usually tempting to do so.

Any advice on this matter?

Elizabeth

Professional Dragon Egg Hunter
Patron
My assistant manager at work quit smoking after 40 years and has been a none smoker for the last 2 years. What she said worked for her is to just stop. Don't say you are trying to quit because trying only gets you so far. If you are just "trying" you won't feel as bad when you go back. Just quit. Start calling yourself a non smoker and stick with it!
If you get tempted just repeat to yourself, "I am a non smoker". It might psychologically help which is what most people need. Anytime anyone asks you to have a smoke or your tempted to buy a pack just remember "I am a non smoker". Stand in front of your mirror and repeat this saying till it rolls off your tongue. Let this saying become your life motto almost.

I would recommend not buying any of those nicotine pills, patches, etc. they will just make you tempted to buy cigarettes again because you'll still have that nicotine in your system. Also DO NOT VAPE! It allows moisture to become stuck in your lungs which is incredibly bad for you.

Another way to keep that temptation at bay. Try sunflower seeds, bubble gum. Anything to keep your mouth or fingers busy and distracted. Some people smoke because they are bored and need a distraction.