How to name my plugin class?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Floris

I'm just me :) Hi.
Staff member
This question has been asked a few times, and there's no straight or one liner answer to it, but I will try to explain. Well, I am still learning myself, so let's hope I am not wrong.

Basically, I recommend people to make a unique collective directory to put their own custom add-on code in. Ragtek for example uses the directory ragtek/ and I use the directory xenfans/. Why? Well, if we both have a Listener.php file, we now do not run the risk to overwrite it. Plus, it's just easier to find a plugin in the directory listing. Oh and well, it just looks organized.

At this point we have library (by xenforo) and say XenFans/ by xenfans.com, the path is: upload/library/XenFans/

The second step is what I call 'being obvious'. If you're writing a plugin that adds an extra tab to the navigation bar, calling it 'extra' or 'extra tab' as add-on name is simple, short, and obvious. You can of course be creative and call it something like Tabr (very web 2.0 right?). I will leave that up to you. Assuming I might create other add-ons that are "extra" things, I might go with extra tabs over just extra.

At this point we have library/XenFans/ and within it the add-on name ExtraTab/ The path is: upload/library/XenFans/ExtraTab/

It's arguable if you desire to put your Listener.php file within the Listener/ directory first. We could have a huge discussion about it. Personally I think this through like this: Am I going to make a small or bigger add-on? Will it be much bigger in the future? If not, perhaps just having a Listener.php file is enough. Otherwise if I might have more things like routes, controllers, data writers, and what not, if not only for organizational reasons I like to put the file within the Listener/ directory.

For the sake of the name of the class- example, I will put it in the directory.